Ultra Records

finish of the ’04 divide race

It is our intent that this page be used to chronicle the fast-changing world of ultra-endurance mountain bike racing. Records are broken and courses change–as a result this page will be in a constant state of flux.

Great Divide Mountain Bike Route Records

2,780 mile US + CAN Records
Male Mike Hall (2016) 13:22:51
Female Lael Wilcox (2015) 15:10:59

Arizona Trail Race (750) Records
Male Kurt Refsnider (2018) 6:06:06
Female Elizabeth Sampey (2019) 9:11:44

Colorado Trail Race Records
Male Neil Beltchenko (2016) 3:19:50
Female Eszter Horanyi (2011) 5:05:27

Bikepacking Triple Crown
AZT750, Tour Divide and CTR in one year — see Triple Crown of Bikepacking
Male Jay Petervary (2015) 27:18:33
Female Alice Drobna (2015) 36:06:56

Iditarod Trail Invitational Records
350-mile race to McGrath
Male John Lackey (2015) 1:18:32
Female Heather Best (2015) 2:08:09

1,100-mile race to Nome
Male Jeff Oatley (2014) 10:02:53 (Northern Route)
Female Jill Homer (2016) 17:03:46 (Northern Route)
Male Jay Petervary (2011) 17:06:00 (Southern Route)
Female Tracey Petervary (2011) 18:06:30 (Southern Route)

Arizona Trail 300 Records
Male Kurt Refsnider (2014) 1:21:07
Female Kaitlyn Boyle (2018) 2:02:57

Grand Loop Records
Male Dave Harris (2009) 02:12:44
Female Lynda Wallenfels / Cat Morrison (2012) 03:11:33

Stage Coach 400 Records
Male Eddie O’Dea (2013) 1:15:27
Female Eszter Horanyi (2012) 2:06:40

Coconino Loop Records
Male Kurt Refsnider (2013) 1:06:52
Female Kaitlyn Boyle (2017) 1:07:22

Self Supported Stage Race
Male Matt Schiff (2013) 1:00:48
Female Lynda Wallenfels (2012) 1:11:57

Trans North Georgia
Male Eddie O’Dea (2013) 1:14:57
Female Lisa Randall (2013) 1:22:10

Allegheny Mountains Loop
Male Taylor Kruse / Chris Arndt (2013) 1:14:18
Female Ruth Cunningham (2013) 2:04:41

Cross Florida Individual Time Trial
Male: Bryan Frantz (2014) 21:25:00
Female: Ruth Cunningham (2012) 25:56:00

Huracan 300
Male Eddie O’Dea (2015) 1:06:39
Female Jennifer Moos (2015) 1:12:05

Caldera 250/500
500 Male Arthur Kopatsy (2015) 5:04:27
250 Male Keith Richards-Dinger (2015) 2:14:04

Smoke ‘n Fire 400
Male Sam Harney (2015) 1:18:56
Female Rebecca Rusch (2015) 1:20:06

Dixie 200
Male Steve Cook (2014) 1:13:40
Female N/A

Kokopelli Trail
Male Kurt Refsnider (2019) 11:52
Female Rebecca Rusch (2013) 13:32

Freedom Challenge Race across South Africa
Male: Martin Dreyer (2017) 10:06:40
Female: Jeannie Dreyer (2013) 12:05:55

Hunter Trail Race 323 km (OZ)
Male: Adam Kelly (2012)  1:1:40
Female: Kim McFadden (2011) 2:4:30

Hunter Trail Race 750 km (OZ)
Male: Steve Timbrell (2013)  4:6:38

Great Dividing Trail (OZ)
Male: Liam Crowley (2013)
Female: Courtney Shinn (2013) 1:19:49

If you have a race record that you feel should be listed here, please send an email with all pertinent info to records@bikepacking.net. If you would like to report a new record broken or established (that is already listed here), please comment below. Thanks.

Comments (72)

ScottMMarch 13th, 2014 at 7:47 am

Added new Iditarod records, both distances and both male and female. All records broken, including the most longstanding one on this page — Mike Curiak’s overall record to Nome, which held since 2000.

In addition to the three listed above by Sean, also new women’s overall and Northern record by Ausilia Vistarini.

Kevin GMarch 19th, 2014 at 12:49 pm

How about a “masters” category?

PkApril 18th, 2014 at 1:15 pm

Hi Scott, what is an offical NoBo Record at the moment for Tour Divide? thanks.

ScottMApril 19th, 2014 at 3:53 pm

Paul Attalla has the NoBo record… not sure on the time, 17ish days? Would have to dig it up.

Kevin G– sorry, I don’t have the resources to maintain separate masters (or singlespeed, etc) records.

Chris ArndtJuly 9th, 2014 at 8:59 am


Taylor Kruse and I (Chris Arndt) broke our 2012 AML co-record in 2013 with a time of 1:14:18.

ScottMNovember 20th, 2014 at 8:44 am

Added new section for the “Triple Crown of Bikepacking” with Kurt Sandiforth as the current record holder, set in the 2012 season. No female finishers, yet.

See: http://www.bikepacking.net/triple-crown-of-bikepacking/ for details on both the racing and touring triple crown of bikepacking.

Also updated the improved AML record (same holders) as noted by Chris Arndt just above.

ScottMDecember 9th, 2014 at 8:38 pm

Added new CFITT record by Bryan Frantz, of 21:25.

ScottMFebruary 13th, 2015 at 10:07 am

Added new record for the Dixie 200 by Steve cook in 2014. The Dixie route by Dave Harris has been raced for a number of years, but only now added to this page for record keeping.

ScottMApril 17th, 2015 at 9:31 am

Added new AZTR 750 record – Alice Drobna – 9:13:53, set during the 2015 event. She takes a huge chunk out of the previous record.

Bethany DunneMay 15th, 2015 at 12:25 am

Should think about adding NZ’s Kiwi Brevet and Great Southern Brevet to the list, though they change direction and alternate years so much it might be too hard.

Eddie OJuly 28th, 2015 at 12:21 pm

Trans North Georgia
Male: Eddie O’Dea (2013) 1:14:57
Female: Lisa Randall (2013) 1:22:10

Hurican 300
Male: Eddie O’Dea (2015) 1:06:39
Female: Jennifer Moos (2015) 1:12:05

ScottMAugust 7th, 2015 at 12:16 pm

Lots of updates, lots of fast racing this season!

Added new Tour Divide records, both male and female, from the 2015 event. Congrats to Josh Kato and Lael Wilcox.

Added new Men’s Colorado Trail Race record by Jesse Jakomait.

Added new Triple Crown challenge records, both male and female, Jay Petervary and Alice Drobna respectively. Alice is also the first woman to complete the challenge, also first singlespeeder.

Updated new Huracan and Trans North Georgia records, as noted by Eddie O above.

ScottMAugust 27th, 2015 at 9:02 am

Updated Tour Divide record, by Lael Wilcox, of 15:10:59 set as an August ITT. She smashed her own record, which was still only weeks old.

ScottMOctober 6th, 2015 at 5:14 pm

Added new records for two new events:

1 – Smoke ‘n Fire 400 with both male and female records set in 2015 (Sam Harney and Rebecca Rusch).
2 – Caldera 250/500 – with men’s records in both distances, both set in 2015, the inaugural year of the event.

ScottMJuly 1st, 2016 at 8:23 pm

Mid-2016 season update:

– New overall and north route record on the 1000 mile Iditarod trail by Jill Homer.
– New AZTR750 record set by Neil Beltchenko during the event, besting Kurt Refsnider’s 2010 time
– New Tour Divide men’s record set by Mike Hall during the Grand Depart, breaking the 14 day barrier.

ScottMJuly 21st, 2017 at 4:19 pm

Added, much belatedly, but just in time for 2017’s event:

– New Colorado Trail Race record set by Neil Beltchenko, as an ITT, Denver to Durango, lowering Jesse’s time by an hour.

LiehannJuly 24th, 2017 at 4:52 pm

Martin Dreyer smashed his Freedom Challenge record this year (2017) finishing in 10d06h40m.

ScottMJune 18th, 2018 at 12:43 pm

Thanks Liehann.

Added new AZTR records — 750 for Kurt Refsnider and 300 for Kaitlyn Boyle, both set during the 2018 event.

Kurt RefsniderJune 26th, 2019 at 8:40 am

New Kokopelli Trail FKT on June 23, 2019 – 11:52 in the Moab to Loma direction. It wasn’t quite a solstice ride, but it was dang close!

I also noticed that the Coconino Loop women’s record should be updated to 1:07:22, still by Kait Boyle. I think that was in 2017?

ScottMJune 26th, 2019 at 9:44 am

Thanks Kurt.

Added new men’s Kokopelli record, and an improved women’s Coconino record. Koko and Coco!

Elizabeth SampeyJune 26th, 2019 at 3:14 pm

New AZT750 women’s record 2019 — 9:11:44. 🙂

ScottMJune 26th, 2019 at 6:16 pm

Thanks Liz.

Added new AZTR 750 women’s record, set during the 2019 event.


Your comment

bikepacking.net is powered by WordPress | Entries (RSS) and Comments (RSS)|