Racks » Old Man Mountain Sherpa Rear Rack

The Cold Springs and Sherpa mount to your brake bosses and axle. This design allows them to fit nearly any type of frame including frames: without rack eyelets, with small rear triangles, with disc-brakes, and even with rear suspension.

The Sherpa Rear offers the same versatility as the Cold Springs in a minimalist package. Popular for its lack of a load-stop at the front, you can pack it’s top shelf with those extra long items (tents, baguettes, etc…).

Please rate this product (no login required):
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (89 votes, average: 3.58 out of 5)
Loading ... Loading ...

Comments (14)

REVSeptember 17th, 2008 at 4:41 pm

I dig the sherpa rack… Love the lack of lip so long loads go ok. Mounts up solid.

ScottMSeptember 27th, 2008 at 3:43 pm

The Sherpa is a solid rack. Mine survived 2500 miles on the GDMBR, 600 on the GDR, 1500 on two AZT trips and several other shorter trips. It’s now on a commuter bike and still used with panniers.

It’s also quite lightweight, and the ability to use it on virtually any mountain bike is a big plus. 29er lowers are available, and full suspension / disc brakes are no problem.

The extra long quick release mounting system can be a bit of a pain, especially when changing flats. But otherwise, there are no downsides to this rack.

Mike BownJanuary 26th, 2009 at 4:05 pm

Keep meaning to post this somewhere.
Rack is a Cold Springs.
Worked Great on CT…but the welds broke on the top tray, middle of three connections, both sides…
Still worked fine, just made some noise.
E-mailed OMM about a month after trip stating I considered this user damage, could I get the rack repaired by them or just take it to a local welder.
No photos no nothing.
New rack in my possession one week later.
Cost to me- zero dollars.
As OMM put it…
War-uhn-tee.
That’s good CS.

plasticmannMay 8th, 2009 at 12:24 am

These are not cheap in Australia but well worth the money. Great rack. Solid.

Support from OMM via email was also great. very fast – even with the time difference.

RonApril 19th, 2011 at 6:18 pm

I’m using an OMM front ultimate lowrider. Great rack, and I have recommended it often. I did have one brake bolt work loose and fall apart. since then I keep a closer eye on the mounts

KittyOnMyFootAugust 21st, 2011 at 7:09 am

I’ve been using this rack for some time (couple of years?), and I love it. I generally don’t sweat how heavy my loads get, and this has handled them all. Seriously, I bring pieces of firewood home on this when I come across something that looks nice. Can we post pics here? I have a picture of it with an oak stump strapped to it. What I like about this rack (besides the solid construction) is that it keeps the load on the wheel, not the frame, so the suspension system isn’t directly affected.

Toby GaddAugust 21st, 2011 at 5:14 pm

Although OMM makes this work on full-suspension bikes, I don’t recommend it—at least for technical terrain. It makes the rear triangle swing, sway, and sashay like hula girl.

jeffNovember 9th, 2011 at 8:49 am

Used this rack on a f/s trek fuel. Rode the san juan hut route, 210 miles, 7 days. Had 2-3 pretty good wrecks, but no damage to bike or rack. Does make rear suspension handle differently, but honestly what do you expect… carrying heavy loads on a race level bike.

newfydogJune 16th, 2012 at 8:30 am

We did a ride on the Trans Canada Trail where every rack which was not OMM broke.

egearSeptember 7th, 2012 at 5:53 pm

I have on of these on my tour bike. I was a last minute purchase before a trip this summer. The rack is a beast and lightweight. I did have a problem with one of the bolts which came with the rack. The nut seized on it and I had to drill it out. Other then that it was bombproof. Not cheap but a very good rack.

GarySeptember 8th, 2012 at 5:37 am

I had the same experience as Toby Gadd with this rack. Way too flexy. I thought it was my frame being too flexy but when I tried a Topeak disc compatible rack it improved the handling about 95%. I feel the stays that go to the chainstays don’t give the rack enough lateral stiffness.

Arapahoe CycleryOctober 6th, 2012 at 8:57 pm

We bought two sets of racksto try on our Surly fat bikes here at the bike shop; a Pugsley and a Moonlander. Although OMM said they would need to be mounted with clamps around the fork(s), we got the hardware to mount on to the existing bosses, so they fit great. We lost one of the rack’s unique, long QR skewers somewhere in the shop. Three days later we received 2 replacements at no charge!

RunrigDecember 20th, 2013 at 6:43 pm

I have front and rear Pioneer OMM racks. Got my son a rear rack. If you’ve got the money, well worth it. Have just started bikepacking and have been on a couple of overnighters. Rear brackets that came were too long for my bike, I was ready to buy an alternate size, but they weren’t listed on product page, and after email OMM sent me the shorter ones free.

FyrJune 14th, 2016 at 6:49 pm

Use mine for commuting- loaded down and rough roads
Solid rack. However noticed a split I right side strut One call to the shop I bought it from -sent pic week later new one sent
Ace

Add your review / comments

Your comment

bikepacking.net is powered by WordPress | Entries (RSS) and Comments (RSS)|