Hydration » Sawyer Water Filter

7adeaa87-0ed9-480c-9814-0b3ea3842b5a

 

The 3.5 ounce Sawyer Squeeze Water Filtration System is the most technologically advanced and durable, yet incredibly simple to use water filtration solution on the market.

Winner of BACKPACKER Magazine’s highly sought after Editors’ Choice Award in 2012.

Don’t ever pop a pill, pump a filter, or wait for filtered water again. With a life expectancy of 1,000,000 gallons, the Sawyer Squeeze filter is truly a lifetime of water in the palm of your hand.

 

Product Website: http://sawyer.com/products/sawyer-squeeze-filter-system-sp131/

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (5 votes, average: 4.60 out of 5)
Loading ... Loading ...

Comments (9)

Joe DirtDecember 11th, 2014 at 11:13 am

A friend of mine used one of these over the course of a 5 day backpack in the Grand Canyon filtering pretty clear water, some from creeks, some from tinajas. It was way faster, lighter, and more packable than my old pump MSR filter. The only potential issue s it was hard to fill the pouch with water from very shallow water sources. I will be selling my MSR to pick one of these up.

cgar380December 21st, 2014 at 10:30 am

ditch the bag that comes with it and screw it on to an outdoor products 1 L collapsible bladder from walmart for 2$. I’ve been using this for a full season without any issues. If the water is super shallow, take the bag off and fill your gullet by using the unit as a filter straw.
Note that the threads will not screw on to platypus products.

WalterJanuary 2nd, 2015 at 4:29 pm

I have read great things about this filter, including the price, weight and how packable it is. The drawback is the bags, which seem to tear. While I think that Sawyer is now making better bags, another option is to use Evernew bags, which use the same screw threads so it will fit.

Mick80234January 3rd, 2015 at 6:50 pm

The price and the weight are great. I bought one with the intention of using it inline on a Camelbak. While it did work, I found that I had to suck a bit too hard for my liking. I ended up getting the larger (more $$ and heavier) filter to run inline as it was easier to suck. This small filter does fit onto the Platypus bags, so you could optionally use that as a squeeze bag.

KevinJanuary 13th, 2015 at 1:39 pm

I used the mini for 300 miles of the AZT over 11 days (touring pace in the winter with limited daylight) I used two 3L camelback bags setup so one could fill the other through gravity feed. The water I was filtering was generally surprisingly clear. I still needed to flush the filter twice and I don’t think it will ever filter as quickly as it did when new. I think using the squeeze option may be better because sometimes I wanted to filter in the middle of the day and did not want to sit around too long waiting for it it filter.

RyanFebruary 16th, 2015 at 6:03 pm

Last summer, I tried gravity-feeding from my platypus bag, and the threading only held about half the time, and would frequently leak. Good to know there’s other options for this, because at camp, this is definitely the easiest way when it works. I’ve tried running it in-line, and while possible, it does require a lot of effort, just to shave off the weight of the second bag. Highly recommend this filter, but suggest replacing the small fill bag with something larger that hangs. Does require a little back-flow every liter or so to clear the filter, but just giving the bladder a squeeze seems to do the trick.

John FairbairnOctober 23rd, 2015 at 4:22 pm

I used this filter for the AZTR750 and the CTR, it worked great. I like to grab a soda to roll with when I hit resupplies so I always have a regular 16oz plastic soda bottle with me, I drink the soda on the trail and reuse the soda bottle to replace the bag that comes with the filter. The threads match up perfectly with coke/sprite bottles and I fill all my bike water bottles and/or bladders quickly from streams/lakes/tanks. The throughput of the filter is not lightning fast but it’s fast enough given the very light total weight of the filter. This filter is a winner in my book, just don’t let it freeze as the instructions specify or the expansion of water turning to ice can compromise the micro-pores, opening them too far, which can allow organisms through.

Glen CarterSeptember 29th, 2016 at 10:56 am

Used the Mini on the 2015 TD. Worked great. One tip is to carry a wide mouth drink bottle, such as juice or Gatorade, and use it to fill the 1 liter bag that comes with the Mini. It’s real hard to fill the 1 liter bag from a stream as the mouth is narrow. After filling the Mini and filtering into my bottles or Platypus bags, I would often fill the wide mouth bottle, drop a Katadyn purification tab in it, and carry the water as extra – good after an hour or two.

Never let the filter freeze – it will rupture internally.

BlondellJuly 10th, 2017 at 4:38 am

Skype has opened its web-centered buyer beta towards
the entire world, soon after establishing it extensively
in the United states and You.K. previously this calendar month.
Skype for Web also now can handle Chromebook and Linux for instant online messaging connection (no video
and voice but, these require a plug-in installment).

The increase from the beta contributes help for a longer selection of different languages to aid bolster that overseas user friendliness

Add your review / comments

Your comment

bikepacking.net is powered by WordPress | Entries (RSS) and Comments (RSS)|