Sleeping Pads » Neoair by Thermarest

The NeoAir mattress represents the world’s most advanced engineering in ultralight comfort. Beyond being the lightest air mattress available, we’ve utilized two patent-pending internal technologies, making it up to three times warmer and far more stable than any other uninsulated air mattress available. And when it comes to space in your pack, you’ll appreciate that it’s no bigger than a one-liter water bottle. Revolutionary by design, the gossamer NeoAir mattress makes comfort one less thing you’ll need to compromise when traveling fast and light.

* Ultralight & Compact: Weighs just 14oz. and packs down to the size of a 1-liter water bottle.
* Unrivaled Warmth: Our patent-pending reflective barrier returns warmth to your body and reduces heat loss to the ground, keeping you three times warmer than any other uninsulated air mattress.
* Sleep Stable: When inflated, patent-pending Triangular Core Matrix technology creates an internal truss system, resulting in the most stable non-self-inflating air mattresses.
* Lasting Performance: Achieving thermal efficiency without down or fiber insulation means the NeoAir mattress can be inflated directly without the added weight of a pump, or worrying about exhaled moisture wetting insulation and decreasing performance.

Specs:

Packed Size: 9″x3″ (S), 9″x4″ (M & R), 11″x4.5″ (L)
Weight: 9 oz (S); 13 oz (M); 14 oz (R); 19 oz (L
Sizing: S-20×48; M-20×66; R-20×72; L-25×77
Area/Dimensions: 2.5 in thick
Material: Nylon

Product Website: http://cascadedesigns.com/therm-a-rest/mattresses/fast-and-light/neoair/product

Please rate this product: (no login required)
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (54 votes, average: 3.72 out of 5)
Loading ... Loading ...

Comments (12)

ScottMApril 23rd, 2009 at 11:54 am

I’d be curious to hear people’s thoughts about this ‘revolutionary’ pad vs. the Big Agnes ones.

chrisApril 23rd, 2009 at 4:21 pm

I was pretty excited to see this pad in the stores finally, but 2 things caught my attention: First, how thin the bottom is and how fast it may get punctured down here in the desert. Second is how noisy it is. It sounds liek you are laying on a giant bag of potato chips
i look forward to reviews of peopel who have used them in the field

Travis (sherpaxc)April 24th, 2009 at 9:36 am

I now own one and have 1 night on it. First off, I’m a hammocker so no pad will ever be able to replicate the comfort of a hammock to me. I have several of the older Thermarests (Prolite 3 Reg, 3 short, 4 short, and the big daddy Camp one). It is way more compact than any other version. Oh yeah, I have the Regular size.

It is very thick. I could lay on my side and my hips still had a good 3/4 of an inch of space under them. A lot of people on other forums have been worried about the noise created. I am a light sleeper and I didn’t notice it at all. My sleeping bag makes more noise than the pad. It was plenty long for me (5’10) and as usual, a little to narrow but they all are.

The material does seem thin and precautions will have to be taken to not puncture it. Mainly using a ground cloth for me. The biggest difference I can see between the B.A. and the Neo is the bulk. You know how you buy a Thermarest and they come all thin and narrow, then you put air in it and you can never get it that compact again? Well, the Neo easily goes back to the same size as when it was purchased.

Obviously the biggest set back is the price. Luckily I had a fat dividend burning a hole in my pocket so it was no biggie for me. It seems that they’ve been flying off the shelves though so I’d say that Thermarest is good at:
A. Marketing
B. Pricing

Needless to say, one night is not a real field test to me or many others, but it’s something. I found it comfortable as a side sleeper and easy to use. Most importantly I found it light and very low on the bulky side.

Hope this helps.

DavidJuly 7th, 2009 at 1:42 pm

I spent a few nights on this pad bikepacking the CT. Its surprisingly comfortable considering how small it packs, I also had no noise problems with it. It fit perfectly in the bottle pocket on the side of my talon pack.

Dave HarrisJuly 8th, 2009 at 5:26 pm

As far as lightweight pads go, this one is a breakthrough. I just used the small version for a week of bikepacking. Packs small, is light (9 oz) and seems quite durable.

On comfort I give it low marks but that just might be me and not the pad’s deal. It’s great for side sleeping, but on my back my hips and shoulders sank a bit while my low-mid back did not – the backward bend made me feel like an old man in the morning with a stiff back. It had me trying to “shape” the ground into a hammock shape underneath it. Honestly I’m generally more comfortable with a 2 oz hacked piece of foam and shaped ground (racing setup). Hmmm maybe I just need a hammock.

SlowerthensnotJuly 9th, 2009 at 8:13 pm

I’m a big fan of Big Agnus… insulated airpads… havey but packs pertty darn small… only puncture was a unseen nail in a shed… and was ez to fix…. side, back, tummy it works for me…

KTJuly 22nd, 2009 at 11:43 am

72 inch Big Agnes packs as small, 50% more weight, half the cost. I have both BA standard and mummy shapes. Love them both but I’d still like to try a Neo.

newfydogAugust 5th, 2009 at 10:45 am

Just got back from the Trans-Canada trail in BC. REI didn’t even have one of these in the shop to look at but they came in a flash from their online site. Great pad. Go small as they come much bigger than the old thermarests and take some work to blow up. Once inflated, you have a major mattress thickness pad. Two thumbs up.

PottserAugust 10th, 2009 at 12:39 pm

I slept on a Neoair small last three weeks. It was really good. This small size was OK to blow up, but I think the large sizes take quite some air. The durability and comfort are both really good. I was a little uncertain about the durability of the thin fabric, but I found out that Thermarest did a really good job on fabricchoice. It is lightweight, but seems strong.

slimDecember 22nd, 2009 at 3:58 pm

The sizing names seem to have changed so make sure to check the actual dimensions before purchase. I did not notice excess noise. Super comfy, I sleep on my side. Good insulation at about 25 F and no bottom bag.

ErikaMarch 9th, 2010 at 8:53 pm

I have the NeoAir small (I’m only 1.58m tall, 50kg) and it’s comfortable. Sleeping on my side is best; if I try to sleep on my back and have my head at the same level as the mattress then I wake up with a sore back. If I put a pannier under my head and build up some height then it’s fine and comfy as well.

Noise-wise I didn’t notice any, unless I slid it around the bottom of the tent. I wasn’t all too worried about it being punctured as I checked where I pitched my tent, removed any sharper stones and sticks, and then double-checked after I had put the tent up to see if any spiky things were about. It seemed quite durable all the same.

ErinJanuary 1st, 2014 at 3:57 pm

Just bought this pad and I am super stoked on it. I can now fit my tent and pad on my handlebars with room to spare for my tent rain fly if I think I need it. It fits inside my Mountain Hardware phantom 32 which is money because I move around a lot when I sleep so I put my pad INSIDE my bag. I got the regular size even though I am 6′-2″ and it fits fine. I plan to wrap this inside my Big Agnes Fly Creek tent for protection. You definitely need to protect this pad when not in use- its definitely not the most durable thing in the word. 3.5 lbs for my pad, tent and bag combined. Now I can bring more Tequila on my trips!

Add your review / comments

Your comment

bikepacking.net is powered by WordPress | Entries (RSS) and Comments (RSS)|