Backpacks, Gear reviews » Osprey Talon 22 Pack

Day Adventures, Mountain Biking, Adventure Racing

This spacious panel loader will carry all you need for a day of fast paced fun or a serious adventure race. A large mesh lined slash pocket keeps valuables separate and organized.

Colors available: Spicy Chili, Moonlight Blue, Acid Green

Talon 22 Features
Blinker Patch
Hipbelt Pockets
Hydration Slot
Stretch Woven Front Pocket
Stretch Woven Side Pockets
Tow Loop

Volumes and Weights

Size cu. in. liter lbs/oz kg.
S/M 1200 20 1/9 0.70
M/L 1300 22 1/11 0.77

Product Link:
http://www.ospreypacks.com/Packs/TalonSeries/Talon22/

Please rate this product (no login required):
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (130 votes, average: 3.58 out of 5)
Loading ... Loading ...

Comments (8)

ScottSeptember 14th, 2008 at 5:23 pm

Most comfortable pack I’ve used. Hard to imagine a way to improve it, though I suppose it could be lighter. It’s got just a little more capacity than I need, but I always find the extra space useful to jam full of food or other random things I end up buying in town (gatorades, full bags of chips, etc). These packs are very popular with bikepacking racers, and for good reason.

I especially like the small pockets on the hip belt and shoulder straps. When bikepacking with a ~heavy pack the more you can avoid taking off the pack to find things (sunscreen, small tools) the better.

frejwilkSeptember 18th, 2008 at 4:29 pm

The perfect pack for me. Light, comfortable, durable, well designed…

DaveCSeptember 26th, 2008 at 5:18 pm

I’ve been very impressed with this pack, it seems ideal for technical mountain bike touring. It holds about as much gear as I’d ever want to carry on a bike, and most importantly, does so while being remarkably stable. I’ve carried 20 pounds down very gnarly trails without any substantive denigration in speed or confidence.

The pocket organization is well thought out, and the construction is solid. I’m 5’11″+ with a shortish torso, and use the large size.

Highly recommended. It’s even great for conventional backpacking and peak bagging.

MikeCNovember 6th, 2008 at 8:44 am

I’ll echo what the others have said above–great pack with a lot of great features. Most impressive to me is how well it carries whatever weight you throw into it. Very stable on the back and never cuts or digs in even when overloaded. Works well for bikepacking, backpacking, backcountry skiing, backcountry fishing, and running down to the store for sales on Ben & Jerry’s.

Minor nits: not enough internal organization (could use more pockets), too damn big (I can easily carry 4+ days/nights worth of gear and food).

GnatLikesBikesMarch 26th, 2009 at 7:41 pm

I picked up one of these packs after reading all the stories and comments here. I bought it site unseen. Thus far I love it. It is a bit big. I’ll need to follow a strict max weight requirement because I could easily exceed my comfort level for carrying stuff on my back with this pack.

That said, it is a wonderful pack with good features. It’s pretty light too and works great for traveling.

ChadApril 2nd, 2009 at 8:41 am

Living in Arizona, other bags usually give me a sweaty back. I have never had that problem with this bag. I love it, favorite bag I have ever used.

ascarFebruary 1st, 2013 at 4:14 pm

my back hurts!!! it hurts without even lugging a pack on my back. so i carry everything on the bike.

there are time that one must use a backpack. when i do it’s this pack. very very comfy and fits the best to me. keeps my back cool with the air design and just big enough to carry large(but lightweight) things.

the waist and strap pockets are a bit small, but not a biggy. a smaller bag is just not worth carrying as i can just load up the bike. i can see if you put much weight in any backpack that it will not be pleasant to ride with. keeping the weight down and putting heavy stuff on the bike is key.

Moises TwittyFebruary 12th, 2014 at 2:55 pm

Also a thing to mention is that an online business administration course is designed for scholars to be able to well proceed to bachelor
degree courses. The 90 credit college degree meets the
other bachelor college degree requirements so when you earn your current associate of arts in BA online, you will get access to up
to date technologies with this field. Some reasons why students need to get their
associate degree in business is because they can be interested in the
field and want to find the general knowledge necessary just before jumping in a bachelor diploma program.
Thanks for the tips you actually provide as part of your blog.

Add your review / comments

Your comment

bikepacking.net is powered by WordPress | Entries (RSS) and Comments (RSS)|