Handlebars and Grips » Woodchipper and Moto Ace Woodchipper By Salsa

Woodchipper

A freak of sorts, the Woodchipper bar is our off-road drop bar. Aren’t drop bars for road bikes? Not necessarily. The Woodchipper delivers multiple hand positions and is designed for either road STI style brake/shift levers or bar end shifters. Constructed of super strong 7075-T6 aluminum, the Woodchipper is available in 31.8mm clamp diameter.

  • Multi-position, off-road drop bars
  • Bars bend along three planes to create extra wide lowers while still maintaining a shallow drop
  • Ergonomic design works well with integrated road shift/brake levers
  • Bar ends accept bar end shifters
  • Front cable groove for clean cable routing
  • 110mm drop, 80mm reach, 38° drop angle, 26° flare angle
  • 42cm and 46cm widths
  • 31.8mm is AL-7075, 46cm is 332 grams
  • Black bead-blast finish

Moto Ace Woodchipper

The Moto Ace Woodchipper Bar delivers the same features as the premier Woodchipper Bar but in a more affordable package. As an off-road drop bar it delivers a multitude of great hand positions, and compatibility with either road STI brake/shift levers or bar end shifters. Constructed of 6061 aluminum. Available in 25.4mm clamp diameter.

  • Multi-position, off-road drop bars
  • Bars bend along three planes to create extra wide lowers while still maintaining a shallow drop
  • Ergonomic design works well with integrated road shift/brake levers
  • Bar ends accept bar end shifters
  • Front cable groove for clean cable routing
  • 110mm drop, 80mm reach, 38° drop angle, 26° flare angle
  • 42cm and 46cm widths
  • 25.4mm is AL-6061, 46cm is 353 grams
  • Black bead-blast finish

If you haven’t tried Drop Bars on a Mountain Bike you are missing out.

Please rate this product: (no login required)
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (58 votes, average: 3.59 out of 5)
Loading ... Loading ...

Comments (10)

TommignonAugust 6th, 2010 at 7:57 am

I love the Drop Bars. This gives me way more positions for my hands. I set them up where the Drops are where I would normally have my flat bars. this gives me a resting position on the hoods or the tops. Also it is very wide between the Drops for a Sleeping bag or a dry bag. This brought new life from the old steed. For anything longer than 2 hrs this is the bike of choice.

Outsider/YetiAugust 7th, 2010 at 10:07 pm

I have the 46 cm Moto Ace version. It has a nice springy feel very suitable for the rigid front end of the Fargo and the drop bar itself is very comfortable, much more so than the Midge bar and the drop bar on my road bike.

This is simply the best offroad drop bar on the market.

Dave C.September 3rd, 2010 at 1:39 pm

I use the 42cm 25.4 version. It is a very nice flared drop bar, the best yet. Wide, flexy in the forgiving way, tons of useful hand positions. The only thing I’d change is to make the radius of the bend tighter and smaller, like the Midge bar. The Midge had a sweet spot that put the brake levers low enough to be reached easily in the drops, but high enough for the hoods to be a useful riding position. With the Woodchipper you have to compromise one or the other.

GlowBoyJune 23rd, 2011 at 1:36 pm

There are a lot of things about this bar that I like in concept, but ultimately the execution doesn’t work for me. As Dave C said, you pretty much have to choose between riding on the tops/hoods or the drops. If you put the levers high enough for a smooth transition from the tops to the hoods, they flare out at a weird angle that’s awkward to reach from the drops.

The fact that I have 3 On-One Midge drop bars and my Woodchipper is gathering dust says it all.

pppatrickJune 27th, 2011 at 7:46 pm

I was a skeptic at first, but now I can’t ride without them. Very comfortable. For the tops/hoods riding position it took a bit of riding, adjusting, riding, re-adjusting to find the sweet spot. I would highly recommend to a friend.

AurorabuckyDecember 16th, 2011 at 1:35 pm

I’ll note that a compromise between hoods or drops may only be for those with small hands. My hands are large, and Tektro RL-520s allow me perfectly fine access to brakes/hoods up top or down below.

Every part of this bar is very usable and it seems like the design encourages creativity in what the rider uses for what. The extensions are excellent for torquing the bike when out of the saddle, and I’ll expect in the future will be good for turning a fully-loaded front. The “spring” from the 25.4mm version takes out a lot of vibration and impacts, yet doesn’t seem to sap energy from sprints. Inward hoods are very comfy and natural, completely unlike the flat bar I came from. In more difficult handling situations, the drop/extension position allows a lot of precision and enough of a handle on the bike to move it beneath you, especially if you’re off the seat.

MattLMarch 10th, 2013 at 3:29 pm

I have the 42cm Woodchipper 2 on the front of a Fargo. These are the best drop bars I have ever used. I counted 7 distinct positions on today’s ride, all of which I actually used. I can hide from headwinds more comfortably on these bars than any other bar I’ve tried. I am using Tektro RL-431 levers with Dura-Ace 10s bar end shifters. I don’t have tiny hands (men’s Med. glove size), but I find this compact lever makes it easy to set things up so I can one finger brake from the drops and still use the hoods.

Highly recommended, but consider a short-reach lever, even if you have big hands.

CloosyMay 22nd, 2013 at 3:44 am

I use the 46cm on my road tandem. they are incredible! Lots of hand positions and the short drop makes them easy to cruise long distances on the drops with ease. Plenty of torque for handling loaded touring, which is what we do. I highly recommend them!

ClaytonAugust 1st, 2013 at 3:42 pm

I’ve tried many bars on my Rivendell Atlantis. I have had three back surgeries and three carpal tunnel surgeries. I am always searching for a new setup, trying to get comfy. It has been a struggle to find a bar that works for me. I finally found a 25.4 woodchipper and am in heaven. With a tall Nitto dirtdrop stem, (which I had to fillet the corners to get the tight bends through) I have found the perfect drop bar.

KennethNovember 20th, 2013 at 9:00 pm

I have the 46cm salsa woodchipper 2 and just fell in love with it right from the start.I build my own bicycles I habe built two Surly Big Dummy a 2011 model and the last one is my 2013 model it’s grey in color the 2011 was black.I had the Titec H-Bar and it just never did feel right no matter what I did to it.But this woodchipper 2 was just what I was looking for wish I had found this sooner it’s one of the best if not the best bar out on the market I think anyway.I going to order another one for my touring bike that I built back in 2010.I don’t see why anyone would have a problem with this bar at all.Like someone said you can go on a loaded touring with this bar and you can for sure add a sleeping bag on the front of this bar and still have room for a Garmin 810 bicycle computer.I have mine setup this way and love it too.

Add your review / comments

Your comment

bikepacking.net is powered by WordPress | Entries (RSS) and Comments (RSS)|