Bike Bags » Mountain Feed Bag

The Mountain FeedBag is an ergonomic, out-of-the-way, effective feeding system that helps you – the competitive mountain bike racer – get to the finish line faster! Functionally, it keeps you consistently fueled; ergonomically, it conserves your energy.

Store your food inside. Stuff wrappers outside. Feeding from Mountain FeedBag is way more efficient than jersey pockets or backpacks. Feeding is easy; in fact your food is just inches from your hand! It’s great for racing AND training.

Mountain FeedBagTM Features:

* Easy access to food while riding
* Crash/Spill-Proof – Won’t knock free from your bike or spill contents
* 80 cubic inches of energy storage (bars,flasks,packets,secret concoctions, etc.)
* Lightweight (64 g – 2.25 oz), durable and tough
* Water Resistant
* No more reaching for damp, gooey food in your jersey pocket
* No more having to struggle or stop to reach food
* Easy litter control in exterior mesh pocket
* Designed and refined by a 12 Hour Solo Mountain Racer, and further refined by other endurace racers
* Made in Oregon

Product website: http://epicrideresearch.com/

Please rate this product (no login required):
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (107 votes, average: 3.50 out of 5)
Loading ... Loading ...

Comments (12)

ScottSeptember 11th, 2008 at 9:46 pm

I ran two of these little devils for the AZT 300 and one during the GET. I can’t say enough good things about them. Easy access to food (and batteries). Simple design and attachment. Doesn’t get in the way or block sight lines. I was surprised how much food I can shove into them, and it’s a great way to get more weight onto the bike. I’ve never been too happy with all my other handelbar / stem bags, but these are perfect!

AmyLOctober 22nd, 2008 at 9:42 am

Based on Scott’s review, I bought one. I just finished a two week dirt/paved road tour in Northern California using it. I liked it a lot, and will probably buy a second one. About 4 months ago I bought (and subsequently returned) five different stem/bar/bento bags from local REI and bike shops trying to find a good way to carry camera, reading glasses, snack food, and other small things – I returned all of them after mounting them on the bike and deciding they really didn’t meet my needs. The Mountain Feed Bag was great – it holds a lot, and is securely attached and doesn’t get in the way.

Ohio RobbMarch 24th, 2009 at 7:29 pm

Great product from a great company. I bought one intending to use it for my attempt at the CTR this year, but now i use it for nearly every ride, and even some races as short as 34 miles. It attaches very securely to the cockpit, and even has a strap down to the fork crown, which really locks it in place. One hand operation makes it easy to grab food quickly and safely, nothing ever falls out, and it makes it easy to stuff trash on the outside rather than up your shorts or back in a pocket. The attachments are flexible enough to work a light or GPS in there somewhere, and still fit snugly into the space between the handlebar and stem. All that and you’ll make friends on rides because you can bring grandma’s cookies along, and they won’t get crushed or taste like back sweat.

My only suggestion would be to move the second mesh pocket to a place that’s actually accessible. As right and left handed models, the outside pocket works great, the inside one is impossible to reach. They could move it to the side facing the rider, or lose it all together. Still gonna pick up another one and roll double feedbagged through Colorado this summer.

TiffanyJune 29th, 2009 at 11:19 am

This bag rocks!

It has a lot of room and doesn’t get in the way at all. It doesn’t affect handling, as I don’t notice any difference while it is on my bike. I’ve use it to carry lots of things. Tools, food, camera, cell phone. Nothing ever falls out. It stays on my bike most of the time, I even use it for short rides. I’m even thinking about getting a 2nd one.

Tiffany

SlowerthensnotJuly 25th, 2009 at 4:06 pm

Love mine for sure gonna have to get a matching bag soon… good for snacks and cameras

TucsonNateOctober 15th, 2009 at 1:13 pm

Does anyone know when these are going to be back in stock? I’ve tried contacting them and no one will call/email back. If anyone has an extras I’d love to buy one or two from you.

Rik PerryNovember 27th, 2009 at 8:03 am

Just Recived two of the new stock from Christa…. Great bags, easy to use and hold loads meaning you can run a smaller pack and keep the weight off your back… Also Christa is a pleasure to deal with, very helpful and the bags arrived in no time….. Buy some !

PatrickAugust 18th, 2010 at 4:31 pm

What a great product – so well made and functional. Though it has a tight footprint, my legs brush it pedaling out of the saddle on my road and MTB bikes, but they would anything in that space, I guess..overall, highly recommended.

JollyDecember 30th, 2010 at 8:47 am

The MTB feed bag is great I’ve got one on each of my bikes. Easy to access and secure, nothing ever falls out even on extreme MTB rides.

Jeff KatzFebruary 6th, 2012 at 8:37 pm

I used one of these little gems on the Cascade Creampuff 100 mile race with great results. Gel, blocks, Oreos and whatever else I had in there was readily available and immediately at my fingertips. What I felt was best about this set up was that my hands didn’t need to go digging in my pack and I could continue to focus on the trail (there are a few places where you could take a pretty nasty fall and that was not a option).

ascarFebruary 1st, 2013 at 4:07 pm

got one of these and use it all the time for extra water bottle or food or stuffing quick clothes.

used it so much i got tired of moving it around on all my bikes i tried to order more, but they were out. i got two cheap $8.00 versions on ebay. what a waste. they were flimsy, too short to hold a water bottle, no bottom strap so they jumped all around. aggg!!

ordered two ruksaks from Jpak and liked them even better than the mountain bag. also i can fit a nalgene 48oz in the ruksak and it will not fly out.

Chris EAugust 22nd, 2013 at 7:53 pm

A very awesome concept, executed well. That said, there are many improvements that could be made. The size is about perfect, but they will rub legs when you’re standing. They have ambidextrous webbing straps so you can mount them on either side of the stem; I had to rip off those mounts so that my knees didn’t get ripped up over the course of a long ride. Now they are specific to right and left.

Some improvements (maybe the Revelate guys are reading?):
-Probably a little overbuilt for what they are; could definitely be trimmed down without losing much in the durability department. Disclosure: I’m a huge weight weenie.
-The drawstring should be configured so that a pull in one direction it closes and a pull in the opposite direction it opens. Think most modern ski gloves. As it stands its a bit of a pain in the ass to open back up once closed.
-The mesh attachment is a little ‘robust’. It blocks off a large portion and makes it somewhat difficult to utilize it fully.

Otherwise, a good piece of kit.

Add your review / comments

Your comment

bikepacking.net is powered by WordPress | Entries (RSS) and Comments (RSS)|