Bike Bags » Epic Designs / Revelate Bike Gear


Custom adventure cycling gear handmade and tested in Alaska.
Frame bags, Seat bags, Gas Tanks, Handle bar bags and specialty gear for winter racing.

Born out of a necessity to provide high quality gear for the Iditarod races in Alaska, Epic Designs also produces innovative gear for lightweight touring where ever it may be. Owned and sewn by a passionate mountain biker and who goes to great lengths to test his own products in the Alaskan wilderness.
Check out:

Company website:
http://www.revelatedesigns.com/

Please rate this product (no login required):
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (244 votes, average: 3.61 out of 5)
Loading ... Loading ...

Comments (21)

REVSeptember 17th, 2008 at 4:42 pm

Eric, built me a gas tank and a frame bag, both fit to exact spec, and Eric was great to work with. I highly recommend his work.

frejwilkSeptember 18th, 2008 at 4:27 pm

I have an Epic Designs seat bag and small frame bag. As stated above, Eric was great to work with. Excellent communication. My little frame bag is for a specific purpose and Eric took the time to understand what I wanted and the result was superior. Plus, I like knowing my bags come from someone doing the biggest adventures. Highly recommended.

velomattApril 2nd, 2009 at 10:05 am

Eric made me a custom frame bag, gas tank, front harness/bag, and a Super-Twinkie. In a word, perfect!
I have a curved top-tube custom Coconino frame and Eric built the frame bag from a copy of the original blue-prints. He managed to make it fit perfectly. He even managed to complete my set-up during his busy season with little to no wait! The stitching is perfect and he even goes to the trouble to cover the inside seams with stitched fabric. This is tedious, finishing touch that shows his attention to detail and the level of his quality. I paid around $400 for the complete set-up and feel I got a great deal. Eric is truly dedicated and VERY attentive to my concerns. His recommendations on my odd shaped frame proved to be just this side of perfect. How many of us get a chance to work with a truly dedicated artisan who loves what we do? Eric reminds me of Steve Garro (Frame-builder) with his Zen like attitude towards design and construction. It’s people like Eric & Steve who make the world a better place for those of us who wish to escape the daily grind with our obsession for human powered fun! I look forward to wearing them out which should take a long time! THANKS ERIC!

MikeCNovember 30th, 2009 at 6:21 pm

I own a small fortune worth of Epic bags for my bikes. At last count I have three frame packs, two sets of pogies (winter-use bar-covering hand warmers), a ‘gas tank’ and a few stuff sacks.

Craftsmanship is top notch on all of them. I’m a dedicated do-it-yourself sewer but my skills and equipment are so lacking that when I need a bikepacking bag made I call Eric at Epic.

Highest recommendations.

MC

ChrisDecember 1st, 2009 at 2:46 pm

My summer bags (seatbag, gas tank, frame bag) have all been made by Eric. They’re survived countless races, tours and training and they’re still going strong. When I needed large winter bags I went to Eric without hesitation. I’ve even seen some of his newest products and special touches on other riders bags and want to upgrade my original set! Plus his pogies are so awesome.

SlowerthensnotDecember 1st, 2009 at 5:25 pm

Just sent my frame bag and gas tank through the wash they look as good as new!

DaveJune 1st, 2010 at 8:37 am

I’ve had a frame bag and gas tank from Epic Designs on my Fargo for a week now and they’ve become utterly indispensable in this short amount of time. To date I have several commuting rides and one long all day gravel grinder logged with the bags, and they are simply awesome. I’m now able to go without a pack, carrying all gear on the bike (including lots of water) and this makes an amazing difference in fatigue and better balance on the bike. The craftsmanship is top-notch and the fit to my frame was perfect. Multi-day bike packing is in my near future and these bags will be a key component. Highly recommended!

Big PoppaApril 23rd, 2011 at 1:16 am

Revelate makes great stuff. I have two sets; the seat bag, handle bar bag, fuel tank, and frame bag. They have been out in summer and severe (-20) winter weather. Totally bomber. Totally worth it.

donmeredith74April 23rd, 2011 at 5:23 am

Fantastic gear. I’ve gotten two frame bags from Eric now (first frame broke unexpectedly) and both were well made and perfect fits to the bike. The design improvements between the first and second bag show that Eric actually uses the gear that me makes and that he is working with his customers to continuously improve. Good stuff!

Toby GaddMay 9th, 2011 at 2:03 pm

Well-designed and perfectly constructed. Good stuff!

Rick NelsonMay 11th, 2011 at 12:37 pm

I’ve been using the Harness with drybag and the large pocket on my setup…totally awesome gear and a perfect fit for my handlebars(Trek 6000 Hardtail). Will definetly be talking with Eric again for any future needs.

SteveOctober 13th, 2011 at 9:51 am

Nothing but high praise for the Viscacha Seat Bag. Used it to carry all my clothes and supplies (admittedly packed tightly and lightly) for a 10 day / 1000 mile tour of the Pacific Northwest. Eric was helpful answering questions pre-trip via email. Bag was well made in terms of construction and materials but lightweight and appropriate for a fast & light credit card tour. Its use exceeded my expectations.

Only negatives were that it sways a bit if packed heavily and fully extended when you’re up out of the sadddle climbing on a road bike.

Stuff stayed dry except for 1 day when we road through 11 hours of rain and a shirt packed towards the very front was damp; I think somewhere a tiny bit leaked in. Given that i was also using the bag as a fender this is understandable – we had 2 other days with periods of heavy rain and everything in the bag was 100% dry.

Its a well thought-out bag regarding strap placement and fasteners etc. Details are done right making it extremely functional.

Overall I’d give it a 9 out of 10.

TD DTJanuary 29th, 2012 at 10:00 pm

High Quality goods with GREAT attention to detail! Worth every penny, highly recommended. Customer service is also top notch, Eric will answer your questions and get back to you if you send him an email. I’ll be a lifetime customer for sure.

slimJuly 11th, 2012 at 8:56 am

Used the jerry-can very nicely on the bottom inside the main triangle, resting on the downtube, bascking up against the seat tube. It allows use of a waterbottle and a small frame bag if one fits. This will only work on bigger bikes with the ‘hockey stick’ downtube.

slimJuly 11th, 2012 at 9:01 am

Used the new Sweetroll. It works great. Sits well under the bars with minimal swaying. It is easy to stuff. Also used the sling, not so great. Fabric bunches up since straps are not sewn to the edge. Nice to be able to use a separate drybag though.

DC LucchesiAugust 1st, 2012 at 5:34 pm

I feel like I’m piling on here, but Eric’s work is indeed, top notch! Used a Tangle bag as part of my setup for a weeklong tour of the Blue Ridge Parkway and found it to be indespensible. Left just enough room to access the two frame mounted h20 bottles, but still kept rainwear, on the bike grub, bear spray, phone, camera and more within easy reach!

Leonard FancherNovember 13th, 2012 at 5:28 am

Erics stuff kicks butt!

Pablo HernándezNovember 29th, 2012 at 2:19 pm

Bought a seat bag from Eric – looks fantastic! Also recently bought a sweet roll – but this time the package did not arrived. I’ve been trying to reach him by mail and by phone without sucess … help!

Rich WallDecember 2nd, 2012 at 4:22 pm

I have just kitted my Fatback fatbike out in Revelate gear and it is brilliant equipment. Eric is awesome to work with and the quality is the best I’ve seen. Highly recommended.

johnJune 26th, 2014 at 1:48 pm

What can you say about Revelate bags, they just rock

NickJuly 5th, 2015 at 12:28 pm

I was so impressed with the quality of my jerry can and viscacha bag that I ordered the tangle and gas tank. I also added the spocket. Great quality, durability and looks to boot!

Add your review / comments

Your comment

bikepacking.net is powered by WordPress | Entries (RSS) and Comments (RSS)|