Pages: [1]
Reply Reply New Topic New Poll
  Topic Name: using pogies on: December 11, 2013, 08:40:15 PM
Slim

View Profile
« on: December 11, 2013, 08:40:15 PM »

hi,

How do people deal with their pogies? mine seem to accumulate a fair bit of moisture in even a short ride(haven't used them for an overnight yet), as they are a non-breathable coated fabric, lined with pile.

They are not super warm, so I wear thin fleece gloves underneath, also to keep my hands warm when I pull them out of the pogies.

This combo is perfect down to about -10F/-25C which is about as cold as it usually gets here.

But this creates two issues;
1- my liner gloves get very damp
2- the pogies get quite damp, how to dry them on an overnight trip.

I've been thinking of VBL gloves, maybe dishgloves?

anyway, what do you use?

Topic Name: using pogies Reply #1 on: December 12, 2013, 07:47:56 PM
dcrowe

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: December 12, 2013, 07:47:56 PM »

I am new to pogie-land. Have a pair of Dogwood designs with light insulation.  To date I have not experienced the dampness that you have experienced.

With the Dogwoods it is summer gloves to -15c. XC ski gloves to -25 Light old mittens from there. I have found that pogies are a good place to store extra layers for my hands.

Bummer about the condensation. If you keep them then it would seem like VB gloves are a good option.  Ice fishing or paddling gloves perhaps?

Topic Name: using pogies Reply #2 on: December 12, 2013, 10:25:05 PM
Area54

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: December 12, 2013, 10:25:05 PM »

Dogwoods, the light version, with a light powerstretch liner glove. When my hands get too warm, I just ride with them on top of the pogie. Would say I never really had an issue with moisture buildup, was always concious of keeping the layers just right to minimise moisture buildup anywhere.