Pages: 1 ... 3 4 [5] 6 7 ... 15
Reply Reply New Topic New Poll
  Topic Name: Tour Divide 2018 Race Preparation Reply #80 on: January 18, 2018, 07:15:59 AM
Woodland

View Profile WWW
« Reply #80 on: January 18, 2018, 07:15:59 AM »

Does anyone know the difference or pros/cons of the Aqua Mira drops vs. the Kataydin Micropur tablets. I've never used the Kataydin tabs before, the Aqua Mira drops have served me well in the backcountry so far, but I like the idea of not having to wait 5 minutes for the two Aqua Mira solutions to become effective.

Topic Name: Tour Divide 2018 Race Preparation Reply #81 on: January 18, 2018, 07:37:48 AM
BobM

View Profile
« Reply #81 on: January 18, 2018, 07:37:48 AM »

Yes, and it makes me realize how darn lucky we are to be able to have that freedom.

So, back to planning...does anyone carry filters or pumps on the route anymore? Or are tabs/drops enough. I just got a new MSR trailshot, but I'm wondering if I even need it now.

Tabs and drops are chancy as they do not kill all the nasties.  I take a Sawyer Mini ($20 or so at Wal-Mart) - weighs only a few ounces.  It can also be installed inline with a bladder.

Check out my leatherwork shop at www.etsy.com/shop/BirchCreekLeather

Topic Name: Tour Divide 2018 Race Preparation Reply #82 on: January 18, 2018, 06:29:06 PM
THE LONG RANGER

Hi-Ho, Single-Speed, AWAY!

View Profile WWW
« Reply #82 on: January 18, 2018, 06:29:06 PM »

Guh, I hate the Everest comparison. People spend huge chunks of money on things like the TD, but it's not some requirement. ML would talk about doing the race spending just a few hundred dollars en route. Having a flashy kit is fun, but nail the basics and keep the rest of everything simple.

Topic Name: Tour Divide 2018 Race Preparation Reply #83 on: January 19, 2018, 06:48:30 AM
Woodland

View Profile WWW
« Reply #83 on: January 19, 2018, 06:48:30 AM »