Pages: 1 2 [3]
Reply Reply New Topic New Poll
  Topic Name: Tour de los Padres 2020 Reply #40 on: March 17, 2020, 09:34:32 PM
plaz

View Profile
« Reply #40 on: March 17, 2020, 09:34:32 PM »

Hi guys, I'm new to Los Padres. What is the bear situation, in particular, what do people do to protect the food (etc) being carried? I get the feeling that bear hangs are not feasible everywhere. I'm planning to do the proper route and take my time, like 5+ days.

Topic Name: Tour de los Padres 2020 Reply #41 on: March 17, 2020, 10:01:31 PM
ec_duz_it

View Profile WWW
« Reply #41 on: March 17, 2020, 10:01:31 PM »

There are black bears near big pine mountain and near Reyes peak. Jeff K. Said he saw a bear near big pine 3 years ago. A bear box or hanging food is overkill in the los padres. Bears stay clear away from people, mainly because it is legal to hunt them at certain times of year.

On another note, we got a real winter storm yesterday. It even snowed at the top of Santa Barbara last night on la Cumbre peak at a meager elevation of 3500?.  It?s too early to say how conditions on April 3rd will be, but it looks like another storm is coming this Monday. If that storm brings even more snow, April 3rd might not be feasible.

Photo below from SulkyJunior taken this morning.

* 78064CD2-1B72-44F3-9047-87B1F356B92E.jpeg (401.09 KB, 739x611 - viewed 822 times.)

Topic Name: Tour de los Padres 2020 Reply #42 on: March 19, 2020, 02:19:54 PM
hellvetica

View Profile WWW
« Reply #42 on: March 19, 2020, 02:19:54 PM »

Safe to assume this is not happening (covid and winter storms)?

Topic Name: Tour de los Padres 2020 Reply #43 on: March 19, 2020, 04:07:47 PM
ec_duz_it

View Profile WWW
« Reply #43 on: March 19, 2020, 04:07:47 PM »

Not postponed or canceled (not yet at least).