Pages: [1]
Reply Reply New Topic New Poll
  Topic Name: HT550 2020 on: November 27, 2019, 11:37:14 AM
Lizzyrides

View Profile
« on: November 27, 2019, 11:37:14 AM »

Hi all, first time poster, and also relatively new to bikepacking/racing. I am a veteran of various types of ultra/long one day races but only just getting into the wonderful world of bikepacking. Of course I instantly fell in love and am hooked. I live in Durango and have the CT in my backyard, but I know too much about how hard that trail is so I haven't yet attempted the CTR. Maybe 2021.

So surprise to me when I applied for and was offered a spot for the Highland Trail 550 this May 2020! I am both excited and terrified. I know it's easy to get bogged down in the details of gear/route logistics/etc. when really all I have to do is go ride my bike and have fun, but aren't we all on some level Type A'ers?

So I don't know how much of an international audience this forum gets, but thought it'd be worthwhile to reach out and see if there are any veterans of this race or anyone else planning on riding it this year? I would love to geek out on gear choice, bike choice, etc. and get any tips. Also since I live in SW Colorado I know practically nothing about taking care of myself in rainy environments...

Cheers/Slainte!
Liz

Topic Name: HT550 2020 Reply #1 on: November 28, 2019, 06:25:02 AM
davebarter

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: November 28, 2019, 06:25:02 AM »

Hi Liz

I know the route only too well.

https://phased.co.uk/the-highland-trail-550/

https://phased.co.uk/highland-trail-race-2015/

https://phased.co.uk/the-highland-trail-first-winter-attempt/

And may even see you on the start line next year;-)  Don't be put off by my scratches, I've been unlucky with weather, many others have had days of glorious sunshine.

Topic Name: HT550 2020 Reply #2 on: November 28, 2019, 10:14:50 AM
Ron Thomson

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 28, 2019, 10:14:50 AM »

That's awesome Liz!