Pages: [1]
Reply Reply New Topic New Poll
  Topic Name: How do I know when I'm ready? on: February 15, 2017, 08:12:50 AM
Oylerz

View Profile
« on: February 15, 2017, 08:12:50 AM »

Hi!

I'm brand new to bikepacking and adventure riding, but have absolutely fallen in love with it... at least with the idea of it for now.

I've been riding for a long time, although not necessarily endurance riding, and I have lots of experience wilderness camping from several canoe trips I've taken. Never thought about combining the two until recently when I started looking for a new bike and stumbled into this world of bikepacking.

I bought a great bike (Bombtrack Beyond) last fall to replace my stolen road bike and have been riding it as much as I can. Being a northerner (Ontario, Canada) I avoid the roads when they are covered in salt so it's tough to get much riding in this time of year. In 2016 I cracked 3500 km (a little less than 2200 mi) over the late summer/fall, I plan to up that significantly in 2017.

Working full time most of my riding is done on my morning commute. During the riding months (March to November), most days I try to do a bit more than 60km (~40mi) before work. It would be tough to up that much with the time I have in the mornings. I'm planning to do a couple of week long routes (~500km or so) this summer, but I'd love to start planning to try the TD in 2018 or 2019. At 42 yrs old now, maybe it's a pipe dream, I don't know.

Beyond the training I'm avidly reading everything I can about bikepacking and starting to get some proper bike packs and other gear to make it happen.

I guess what I'm asking is how would I know when "I'm ready" to consider an attempt the TD? What kind of tours should I have done before I attempt the big one?

Thanks for your feedback! I admire all of you who have done things like the TD or other ultra-tours. Y'all are amazing!

-Jonathan

Topic Name: How do I know when I'm ready? Reply #1 on: February 15, 2017, 11:42:21 AM
GrizzlyAdam