Pages: 1 ... 18 19 [20]
Reply Reply New Topic New Poll
  Topic Name: AZTR 2013 Discussion Thread Reply #380 on: June 19, 2013, 12:35:54 PM
sheilat

View Profile
« Reply #380 on: June 19, 2013, 12:35:54 PM »

Cool! I really wasn't sure on the bird ID but figured someone out there would know and chime in.

So for the spring waypoint I got coordinates from the Arizona Trail Association website. If you go to the passages page there are txt versions of GPS data that include waypoints for all the stuff in the databook. I ended up cutting & pasting coordinates into my Garmin software to create waypoints one by one because that was the only way I could figure out to do it. It was kinda tedious so I only made them for water sources in places I thought I'd need it and that looked viable from the water report. I'm no expert so there may well have been an easier or faster way to have accomplished this.

At any rate, those files might be members only content. But seriously, everyone who wants to do this race should join the ATA. It is not expensive; for something like $30 you get access to a wealth of information as well as knowing you are supporting a great cause. All y'all in AZ are lucky to have access to such an incredible natural resource and all the public lands around it.

st

Topic Name: AZTR 2013 Discussion Thread Reply #381 on: June 19, 2013, 02:49:51 PM
the tortoise

View Profile
« Reply #381 on: June 19, 2013, 02:49:51 PM »

But seriously, everyone who wants to do this race should join the ATA. It is not expensive; for something like $30 you get access to a wealth of information as well as knowing you are supporting a great cause. All y'all in AZ are lucky to have access to such an incredible natural resource and all the public lands around it.

st
Hey, I have paid my dues for two years and I would gladly pay more if they would make it more ride-able! ha ha!

Topic Name: AZTR 2013 Discussion Thread Reply #382 on: June 19, 2013, 03:53:54 PM
AZTtripper

View Profile