Pages: [1]
Reply Reply New Topic New Poll
  Topic Name: AZT 300 -- 2017 on: September 20, 2016, 12:43:23 PM
one1speed

View Profile
« on: September 20, 2016, 12:43:23 PM »

This could be the dumbest question to ever hit the forum, but here goes....

How difficult is the navigation on the AZT 300?

I assume riders are using GPS units with mapping software (recommendations?), but I've got no experience using these devices.

I'm sure there are tons of other things I should be concerning myself with, but this always filters up in my mind as an unknown.

Thanks.

Topic Name: AZT 300 -- 2017 Reply #1 on: September 20, 2016, 06:39:06 PM
the tortoise

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: September 20, 2016, 06:39:06 PM »

You need a gps to follow the track. Even with it I got lost more than once both times I did it! Of course I always get lost!

Topic Name: AZT 300 -- 2017 Reply #2 on: September 21, 2016, 08:18:43 AM
mikepro

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: September 21, 2016, 08:18:43 AM »

It's not a "need" to ride AZT300 with GPS, per se, it's just highly recommended.  Questions to answer: how good are you with maps?  how many maps would you need to take to cover 300 miles, and where do you keep them on the bike?  do the maps have all the bike detours (i.e. the bike route) clearly shown?  how's your map nav skills in the dark at biking/HAB speed? how's your map nav skills in the dark regardless of speed of travel? how fast do you want to ride the route?

Personally, I love maps, I love hiking with maps only.  When I got into bikepacking and BP ultra racing, I went with the maps for the Tour Divide (the ACA maps are good and it's all roads), but GPS for CTR and AZTR.  Now, having thru-ridden the AZT750 twice and the AZT300 once, and not knowing of a good mapset that covers the route, and being familiar with what's out there in the desert SW, and moving for several hours through the night darkness, and wanting to cover the route quickly, riding with GPS is highly recommended.