Pages: 1 ... 21 22 [23] 24 25 ... 34
Reply Reply New Topic New Poll
  Topic Name: 2016 Tour Divide Preparation Reply #440 on: April 15, 2016, 09:16:20 AM
pyerger

View Profile
« Reply #440 on: April 15, 2016, 09:16:20 AM »

Well I'm no expert, but having rode the TD last year, I would say YES to all of the above mentioned. maybe the biggest factor is 20 plus extra pounds loaded on the bike. The tires and body do take a beating day after day.

Topic Name: 2016 Tour Divide Preparation Reply #441 on: April 15, 2016, 09:21:34 AM
Jbennett

View Profile
« Reply #441 on: April 15, 2016, 09:21:34 AM »

From my research and talking with folks who have completed the course, there are some muddy sections and some sandy sections.  From my experience, those two things on cross width tires just doesn't sound fun.  Sand is fine when you're on a 15lb CX bike in the middle of a race that might only last an hour or so, but for the length of the Divide, I'm just not sure that sounds like a winning combination.

Topic Name: 2016 Tour Divide Preparation Reply #442 on: April 15, 2016, 09:28:36 AM
Cosmo K

View Profile
« Reply #442 on: April 15, 2016, 09:28:36 AM »

I've also never ridden the TD but will this year and have been thinking about tire size.  Right now I'm deciding between Maxxis Crossmark 2.25 EXO front and back or maybe the Conti Race King with protection.  Having done multi days on a lot of different sizes I think the biggest benefit for me on a fully rigid bike 29er is comfort.  My thought is the possible speed gain you get from a slightly narrower tire (I wouldn't go less than 2.0) you more than make up from less wear and tear on your body.  At least that's my theory.  The crossmark also has a nice raised center section which definitely helps on pavement in my experience but the Race King is lighter. 
« Last Edit: April 15, 2016, 09:42:21 AM by Cosmo K » Logged

Topic Name: 2016 Tour Divide Preparation Reply #443 on: April 15, 2016, 09:50:32 AM
MikeI

View Profile