Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 10
Reply Reply New Topic New Poll
  Topic Name: 2016 CTR Planning on: October 21, 2015, 11:08:46 AM
bsavery

View Profile
« on: October 21, 2015, 11:08:46 AM »

Never too early right?  Ok, maybe a little early.  Anyway thought I'd start the thread. 

I'm planning on doing CTR 2016, psyched to do the "right" direction Wink ! I'm a rookie for the race, but thru-rode a few years ago with friends.  Also some other bikepacking experience, and of course the requisite marathon xc racing. 

One thought I wanted to throw out there is the idea of doing a "self supported stage race" similar to what the coconino 250 did this year:
http://www.bikepacking.net/forum/ultra-racing/coco-250/40/
What all the fast guys do on minimal sleep is incredible but for me, I'd like to race but get decent sleep, and maybe even have an occasional buddy to talk about the ride at the end of the day.  Doing the BCBR this year, while not self supported was a great experience. 

Anyone else interested in the idea?  Downsides could be trail congestion and organizing it, but I think with a 7-8 day stage schedule you could still push most riders who aren't going for the record. 

Topic Name: 2016 CTR Planning Reply #1 on: October 28, 2015, 12:51:32 PM
asatrur

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: October 28, 2015, 12:51:32 PM »

Yeah, my big challenge in this race is getting the time off, so a 5-9 day race that starts on a Sat morning and goes for a week and 2 weekend if needed would be ideal.

Topic Name: 2016 CTR Planning Reply #2 on: October 28, 2015, 01:17:57 PM
bsavery

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: October 28, 2015, 01:17:57 PM »

Even 5-9 days are tough days.  Here's a thought for 8 day stage schedule which would allow a saturday-saturday schedule with a buffer day:

Start      
Day 1   Goose Creek Campground                           54.8
Day 2   Kenosha Pass Campground                           57.9
Day 3   Copper                                                   52.6