Pages: [1]
Reply Reply New Topic New Poll
  Topic Name: Ambition to bike Chile from top to bottom on: May 24, 2022, 05:42:05 PM
Sjoerd

View Profile
« on: May 24, 2022, 05:42:05 PM »

Hello there,

I'm a 22 year old student from the Netherlands who wants to bike from the top to the bottom of Chile. I have cycled from the most Northern point of Norway to Spain when I was 18. This year I will cycle the rest of Spain so I will have done North to South Europe.

In 2020 a friend of mine died due to a sudden epilepsy attack. Ever since, I've been wanting to do a special cycling trip to raise money for epilepsy. My goal is to cycle Chile from top to bottom within a month. However, I've been having a difficult time finding proper routes. I would like to know if it's possible and somewhat safe. I ride with a Cannondale gravelbike and only take what is absolutely necessary so I can do around 200km a day. If people would be willing to help me figure out routes and help me towards accomplishing this, I would very much appreciate it.

Thank you and kind regards,

Sjoerd Overstegen

Topic Name: Ambition to bike Chile from top to bottom Reply #1 on: May 25, 2022, 02:44:39 PM
RonK

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: May 25, 2022, 02:44:39 PM »

I did some research on this a few years ago but never made the trip.

The main route south (through Patagonia) from Santiago is the Carretera Austral. I'm not sure about the route north as it's not visited by many cyclists, but it's a narrow coastal strip and there is probably only one route.

There are some journals on crazyguyonabike.com covering Patagonia.

https://www.outdoorroamers.com/cycle-the-carretera-austral/

Cycle touring blog and tour journals: whispering wheels...

Topic Name: Ambition to bike Chile from top to bottom Reply #2 on: May 27, 2022, 05:05:23 AM
Two Tired

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 27, 2022, 05:05:23 AM »

Hello Sjoerd,

Here are some more suggestions.