Pages: [1]
Reply Reply New Topic New Poll
  Topic Name: Which bike for Tour Divide race on: November 02, 2015, 10:04:42 AM
baddy13

View Profile
« on: November 02, 2015, 10:04:42 AM »

hi everyone - not a total newbie - I do solo - self supported challenges to raise money for Love Hope Strength Foundation.  I did Route 66 2 years ago - 100 miles a day and am off to New Zealand Feb 1st for a North to South Challenge.

However - inevitably once a trip is planned, my mind goes to the next one and am thinking about the Tour Divide for 2018.  My question - as my solos so far have been on road mainly - What sort of bike (wheel size, tyres, gear ratios etc) would be good for an off road challenge of TD length. In a fairly reasonable price range?

Thanks
Lydia
www.facebook.com/OneChallengeAtATime

Topic Name: Which bike for Tour Divide race Reply #1 on: November 03, 2015, 04:14:17 AM
bakerjw

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: November 03, 2015, 04:14:17 AM »

That is a very open ended question. Luckily there are a ton of resources out there to help make a very informed decision.
In the end, you will have to make some choices.

Wheel size? 26", 27.5", 29"
Frame material? aluminum, carbon, titanium?
Hard tail or full suspension
Single speed? 1x or 2x front derailleur? Integral geared hub like a Rohloff?
Bike manufacturer?

I'd say that pretty much every combination has been tried with some working better than others. When I first heard about the TDMBR I assumed that it was all single track trails. there are some single track sections but a lot of it is gravel roads.
So far, the most helpful videos for me have been Iohan's on Youtube https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oa_28YltsuY
And the tour dive grand departure from this last year. You can see a lot of the bikes that people used and how they were configured.
« Last Edit: November 03, 2015, 04:17:48 AM by bakerjw » Logged

Topic Name: Which bike for Tour Divide race Reply #2 on: November 03, 2015, 05:28:29 AM
Lentamentalisk