Pages: [1]
Reply Reply New Topic New Poll
  Topic Name: what kind of bike????? on: December 08, 2019, 07:26:52 AM
musicman

View Profile
« on: December 08, 2019, 07:26:52 AM »

Hello to all.

I am a complete newbie to the bike packing scene. I am coming from the backpacking world, and due to health reasons cannot really do it to the extent that I would, and was use to doing. I was told about Bike packing and thought I would like to explore this.

I have gone to my local bike shop, rei, and was pointed to bikes that cost 1700 hundred dollars and up. I get the "you get what you pay for mantra" but I cannot afford that to start out since I know nothing.

My question is what kind of bike? I guess that is determined by what I want to do........at least that is what I gathered? I have a lightweight backpacking systems, so I'm good with that, but the bike part I don't know.

I live in NC and I am interested in longer excursions out.......what I used to do by foot. Not really interested in true mountain biking, or what is called single track?, but going on logging roads, gravel, paved roads. The NP near me are Pisgah, Natahala, Cherokee, and others if that gives you an idea.

Can someone point me in the right direction?

I backpacked since I was a boy so I have been familiar with the terminology and what was needed. As time went along I became more proficient and pared down what I needed. I assume that is the same for this as well.

I look forward to any input. I know I'm really setting myself up, but I need to learn.

Thank you for any help! It is gratefully accepted and very welcome.

Topic Name: what kind of bike????? Reply #1 on: December 08, 2019, 05:05:38 PM
jaybo

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: December 08, 2019, 05:05:38 PM »

A Surly Bridge Club could be a great option at around $1200

Topic Name: what kind of bike????? Reply #2 on: December 09, 2019, 06:01:44 AM
AZTtripper

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: December 09, 2019, 06:01:44 AM »