Pages: [1] 2
Reply Reply New Topic New Poll
  Topic Name: seat bags and stability on: July 17, 2015, 06:50:05 AM
Joel

View Profile
« on: July 17, 2015, 06:50:05 AM »

Hey everyone,  

I'm a newbie here and looking to get some of my first pieces of gear for bikepacking. Just to introduce myself a bit.  I got my first mountain bike in...84.  It was a Ross.  My next bike was a Specialized running deore in 89.  Since then it's been a Brodie Expresso, a Rivendell Atlantis and a 27.5 Giant.  I'm kinda dating myself I guess. I already have gear setup for light weight backingpacking. Though it's not so much the extra 3-5 lbs I'm carrying in the bag that's the problem, it's the extra 10-15 I've got attached to my body that's the real problem.  Hey, no laughing.  I'm in shape...round, is a shape.

Right now I'm waiting for the newer Relevate seatbag to come back into stock.  I'm thinking this will be my first bikepacking bag.

When watching the many videos out there I've noticed that some bags seem to flipping around when the rider is riding out of saddle or rough trails.  Is this just poor packing or poor design? both? It's one of those things that would drive me nuts.  The seatbag I had on my bike is a Rivendell Baggins Bag but that beast is supported and anchored by a nitto rack.

Can anyone give any advice on this? are certain brands that are better than others?

Thanks!

Topic Name: seat bags and stability Reply #1 on: July 17, 2015, 10:28:51 AM
Smithhammer

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: July 17, 2015, 10:28:51 AM »

Hey Joel -

I'm running a Revelate Terrapin for both my exploring bikes, and I use a 10L or 15L dry bag in it, as needed. Once it's all tightened up, there is very little, if any movement.

There is a good little recent comparison of 3 different seat packs here, with particular attention paid to designs that offer good stability:

http://www.pedalingnowhere.com/gear/bikepacking-seat-pack-evolution/