Pages: [1]
Reply Reply New Topic New Poll
  Topic Name: Nutrition and water over long distances travelling light. on: August 18, 2015, 12:21:20 PM
floatlikeabutterfly

View Profile
« on: August 18, 2015, 12:21:20 PM »

Hi.
I'm new to bike packing but am not new to mountain biking. Have been riding for a long time now and want to do an epic trans alp route from Geneva to Trieste then maybe turn round and follow the via alpina to Monaco.

My question is what do people buy to resupply for breakfast and evening meal after your initial supplies dwindle?

I'm going to travel light, with an albeit saddle bag, my 30 litre evoc trail bag, and my tent on my handle bars, so space is at a premium.

I'm travelling light as for me riding the trails not the journey is the most important part.

I have done a few multi day alpine rides staying in refuges, and eating lunch in alpine towns but when looking at 6-8weeks of journey that method would prove quite expensive.

I have been reading alot on here and backpackinglight.com but have struggled to find my sorts of answers as most people tend to do a week of so trips unless doing epics like trans continental or continental divide routes.

Thanks for your time.
Smiley

Topic Name: Nutrition and water over long distances travelling light. Reply #1 on: August 30, 2015, 06:07:50 PM
geekonabike

View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: August 30, 2015, 06:07:50 PM »

Think dehydrated foods when waters readily available. Dense fat & calories like peanutbutter & honey are good. Jerky doesn't take up much room & keeps well. A lot depends on what available at your resupply points.
 I've notice backpackers often leave great food in the share freely boxs at hostels.

What don't Kill You, only makes You Smell Stronger

Topic Name: Nutrition and water over long distances travelling light. Reply #2 on: September 01, 2015, 06:43:11 AM
vikb

View Profile WWW
« Reply #2 on: September 01, 2015, 06:43:11 AM »