Pages: [1]
Reply Reply New Topic New Poll
  Topic Name: Newbie, overwhelmed with options on: May 03, 2015, 03:05:17 PM
butts0989

View Profile
« on: May 03, 2015, 03:05:17 PM »

I am new to bike touring and really need some help and to be given some direction.  I am an avid backpacker, my general base weight is around 9lbs in the summer and 12 in the shoulder seasons.  I love to mountain bike and I'm trying to figure out the most logical option for a new bike.  I live in crested butte so the terrain I would be riding is predominantly single track with some rocky technical uphill.  What kinds of bikes should I be looking at? Single speeds, fully rigid, hardtail, 1X1, 1X9?? 

Topic Name: Newbie, overwhelmed with options Reply #1 on: May 04, 2015, 09:06:38 PM
Racingguy04

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: May 04, 2015, 09:06:38 PM »

Honestly, you can ride whatever you want to, I like a hard tail for bike packing with a big front triangle so I can have a big frame bag. Alot of FS rigs can accommodate a decent sized frame bag too, so FS isn't out of the question. I generally think that when pedaling a loaded bike uphill for long periods of time, more gears is better. I used to ride a 3 x 9, now I ride a 2 x 10. Sometimes I'm tempted by a bigger granny gear but for now I just walk.

Ultralight backpacking and bike packing have alot in common so you're ahead of the curve there and you'll likely already have most of the camping gear/clothes that you need.

the biggest thing is just to get out there! my first bikepacking trip was on a 10 year raleigh with 26 inch wheels. Now I ride a Carbon fiber frame with 29 inch wheels, it's just as fun.

Topic Name: Newbie, overwhelmed with options Reply #2 on: May 05, 2015, 05:40:26 AM
AZTtripper

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 05, 2015, 05:40:26 AM »