Pages: [1]
Reply Reply New Topic New Poll
  Topic Name: New bike. Advice. on: September 28, 2018, 11:19:48 AM
Sebster

View Profile
« on: September 28, 2018, 11:19:48 AM »

I'm new to bikepacking. I need a bike and I'm looking into a Jones LWB. But there are so many other options. I was also thinking of the SURLY ECR or Bombtrack beyond+ADV.  I want a comfortable bike where I will sit more upright than a standard mtb because i get a stiff neck, hands and shoulders. Any advice?

Topic Name: New bike. Advice. Reply #1 on: September 29, 2018, 08:36:59 AM
KittyOnMyFoot

Forest Dweller

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: September 29, 2018, 08:36:59 AM »

I can't speak to specific brands, but looking for much the same thing in a new bike, here's how I went about it. I wanted a dropper post set up so that at max height, I'm "fit" with the bike in terms of leg extension. At the other end of the spectrum, I wanted as much throw as possible for different geometry options, so I got the longest I could find (13" or so). Based on this, I needed a bike with a frame that 1) had the geometry that would fit me with the post at max height but still allow the post to fully descend, and 2) had a straight enough length of down tube to fit all that throw.

A Specialized Stumpjumper FSR fit this bill for me (wasn't easy to find a full-suspension bike with a straight enough down tube for the full throw of this dropper post, but the geometry is perfect). What I sacrificed for this (until I figure it out) is the ability to mount a solid front rack (mostly because it uses a Maxle, but I'm not sure I'd trade this for "easy" front racks, since I have a rear rack that covers most of what I need, and I love the Maxle).

There's also no seat bag with a dropper post (or I'll bury the bag into the rear tire when I go down), so I use a rear rack. The rear rack in this case does several other critical things: