Pages: [1]
Reply Reply New Topic New Poll
  Topic Name: Is this route over ambitious? on: June 04, 2013, 10:05:14 AM
flanagaj

View Profile WWW
« on: June 04, 2013, 10:05:14 AM »

I have never done a bike packing trip before and want to put my shiny new gear to good use.  I did a century last year, which I did find hard and have done plenty of 50 mile back to back rides.  The mountain bike route I want to do is here

http://www.gpsies.com/map.do?fileId=xkhxehjjiiuuajjc

It is a 240 mile trip that I would like to do in 3 days.

The reason I wonder whether I could tackle this is based on the fact that as I will have nothing to rush back for I can make a real effort to plod along at a more sustainable pace rather than the race pace that I always seem to ride at when I do 3-4 hour rides.

The concern I do have is that I do find it hard to cycle along at a conservative pace and keep the hear rate down.  I did an event at the weekend and ended up with an average heart rate of 163 for a 3 hour ride.  That sort of rate is just not sustainable and I do have concerns that as my body has never had to try and go for 8 - 10 hours at a much lower heart rate for 3 days whether I do have the ability to do it. 

Topic Name: Is this route over ambitious? Reply #1 on: June 04, 2013, 10:17:47 AM
sam.pederson

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: June 04, 2013, 10:17:47 AM »

My two cents:

If it's your first bikepacking trip, do something less ambitious. Your first trip may have a lot of wasted time due to dialing in equipment.

But dont' let me hold you back...if you think you can do it, hit it up

Topic Name: Is this route over ambitious? Reply #2 on: June 04, 2013, 01:10:01 PM
wahday

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: June 04, 2013, 01:10:01 PM »