Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 13
Reply Reply New Topic New Poll
  Topic Name: Hub dynamo and electronics thread. on: July 22, 2013, 11:08:42 AM
the tortoise

View Profile
« on: July 22, 2013, 11:08:42 AM »

There seems to be a lot of interest in hub dynamos and their related electronic questions. I have recently jumped on board and now have a hub dynamo, and converter box along with lots of wires! icon_biggrin

Here are a couple of pics of my set up. I am still learning but so far it is working although I am sure it will change over time.

My biggest questions are the electric draw of the various devices and the actual output of the hub once it is run through the converter plus the losses one incurs?? Also what is everyone else using for hub, converter etc??

* 30hub.jpg (242.34 KB, 1000x859 - viewed 5600 times.)

* 52.jpg (217 KB, 952x1000 - viewed 5852 times.)

* 54.jpg (191.96 KB, 750x1000 - viewed 5656 times.)

Topic Name: Hub dynamo and electronics thread. Reply #1 on: July 23, 2013, 01:20:48 PM
Area54

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: July 23, 2013, 01:20:48 PM »

I've got a SON 28 on the Fargo, with an e-Werk, for topping up Exposure Diablo, or the 800, or phone - one device at a time as required, no USB hub to reduce current and to keep the whole setup as simple and uncomplicated (read reliable) as possible. It needs to survive a heavy downpour and freezing overnight conditions to be reliable, and I don't want to be fussing over miles of cables and connectors.

Still deciding if I'll kit up the fat with a power system.

Amazing where riding a bike will take you...

Topic Name: Hub dynamo and electronics thread. Reply #2 on: July 24, 2013, 08:36:26 AM
the tortoise

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: July 24, 2013, 08:36:26 AM »