Pages: [1]
Reply Reply New Topic New Poll
  Topic Name: How do you pack it? on: June 01, 2015, 05:05:08 PM
sdr

View Profile WWW
« on: June 01, 2015, 05:05:08 PM »

As a bikepacking newbie I've spent many months here searching and reading what gear other people use, in preparation for my big trip. For bags I've decided to go with a Viscacha, Revelate handlebar harness, Revelate Handlebar Storage Pocket, frame bag and Salsa Anything Cages. I will not be using a backpack.

With all the reading I've done regarding other people's set ups, the one bit of information I'd like to know is how they pack. ie: what is going where?

I'm having these mini dilemmas such as; I've thought about putting the sleeping bag, pad and tent on the handlebar harness but I don't want to put a pack up a possible wet tent in with a dry sleeping bag.

Would love to hear how you pack.

Scott

Topic Name: How do you pack it? Reply #1 on: June 02, 2015, 05:34:21 AM
sbear55

View Profile
Re:
« Reply #1 on: June 02, 2015, 05:34:21 AM »

My bar bag fits tent, sleeping bag, and pad.  Down bag goes in a compression dry sack first.

Topic Name: How do you pack it? Reply #2 on: June 02, 2015, 08:39:28 AM
mtnbound

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: June 02, 2015, 08:39:28 AM »

I put my sleeping gear in the bar bag - tent, sleeping pad and bag - so it is all in one place.  Like mentioned above, I do put the bag in its own dry sack, and then put that in a garbage bag.  I also put the tent in a separate garbage bag.  Haven't had a problem yet.

Topic Name: How do you pack it? Reply #3 on: June 02, 2015, 06:16:37 PM
sdr

View Profile WWW
« Reply #3 on: June 02, 2015, 06:16:37 PM »

What size dry sack you guys using for the sleeping bag?

Topic Name: How do you pack it? Reply #4 on: June 02, 2015, 08:03:53 PM
gdillon

View Profile
« Reply #4 on: June 02, 2015, 08:03:53 PM »