Pages: [1]
Reply Reply New Topic New Poll
  Topic Name: Flash 29er with niner fork on: January 14, 2014, 07:17:15 AM
Snowbd2u

View Profile
« on: January 14, 2014, 07:17:15 AM »

Anyone running a flash 29er with a niner fork? And/or in a single speed set up? Running a cannondale trail ss right now and have the chance to trade in my scalpel for a flash 29er. (The 29er wheels caught me and won't let me go) BangHead  doing the dynamo hub in the front so can't use the lefty.... Any insight would be appreciated!

http://vabikepacker.blogspot.com/

You only have one life to live, what are you going to do with it

Josh

Topic Name: Flash 29er with niner fork Reply #1 on: March 08, 2014, 07:46:30 PM
Long Haul Greg

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: March 08, 2014, 07:46:30 PM »

Josh,
    I'm a neighbor of yours a bit further east in Chesapeake, VA.  I can't speak of the Cannondale Flash with Niner's rigid fork, but I've been using Niner carbon forks for the past two years on my Spot Rocker (1 1/8 steerer) and Spot Honeybadger (1 1/8 - 1 1/2 taper).  My bikes have 69/73 head tube/seat tube geometry compared to the Flash's 71/73.  I'm not sure how that translates to ride, but I do know that the TDR-12 and TDR-13 washboards and rock descents posed no problems at all for either of my Niner forks.  I just slacked my grip and let 'em ride.  With all the climbing, I would have hated FS forks and I pitied those who used them.