Pages: [1]
Reply Reply New Topic New Poll
  Topic Name: Fargo v El Mariachi on: January 23, 2014, 10:15:57 AM
kbrembo

View Profile
« on: January 23, 2014, 10:15:57 AM »

Hi

Just about to pull the trigger on a new bikepacking machine.

I have been cycling mtb and road for most of my near 40 years

Current steed is a Fatbike,CX and Ridley Noah

Looking at a near new Fargo 2 2012 model but now swithering on a New 2013 El Mariachi 3 which is a bargain....same price as 2nd hand fargo

Will be using it for the Highland Trail 550 and other "stuff" mostly around the Scottish Highlands

Terrain will be varied from Fire-Road and landRover track to steep technical,rocky sections.

I like the thought of the alternator dropouts on the El Mariachi incase of any mechanicals but curious on the fargo and the woodchipper experience

I cant afford a 2014 fargo with altenators

The bike will be geared.

Cheers

Keith

Topic Name: Fargo v El Mariachi Reply #1 on: January 23, 2014, 11:51:59 AM
bmike-vt

View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: January 23, 2014, 11:51:59 AM »

debated this same thing, back when i bought my gen 2 fargo.
i would have loved the alternators, as i miss SS / FG or IGH options.
but i'm running geared. lots of gravel roads, dirt roads, jeep trail here in VT.
and plenty of single track.
its my most used machine - i have a pugsley and a custom independent fabrications road.

woodchippers for me, were key, because i was looking at a touring / dirt road / tour divide bike. couldn't get my head around doing the tour divide on flat bars. nor doing lots of dirt road / jeep trail touring on flat bars.

takes some time to get them dialed in. mine are a bit low for single track - but workable. they are higher than my road machine, and higher than what i had on a cross bike. my hands, in the hooks, are a bit lower then where they would be on my old soma ss mtb (sold to get the fargo).