Pages: [1]
Reply Reply New Topic New Poll
  Topic Name: Ergonomics: Gripshift vs. triggers on: March 18, 2018, 04:50:22 PM
SVO

View Profile
« on: March 18, 2018, 04:50:22 PM »

Hey all,

Recent hand surgery has me looking to optimize cockpit ergonomics.  I've been running Gripshift for MANY years.  The shifty segment of Gripshift has increased both in length and a bit in diameter over the years, both of which I consider undesirable, especially for endurance riding.  With smallish hands tougher to get the brake levers close enough.  Also feel the quality of GX is off the mark at the price point.  For 11 speed that means a jump to pricey XX1 stuff.  On the other hand, I bang my knuckles into triggers sometimes too- not sure exactly how- I'm watching the trail!

So, anyone moved from Gripshift to triggers or vice versa, in recent times?  What was your experience with ergonomics?  What about mounting interference with a Sweetroll type pack?  Thanks!

JD

Topic Name: Ergonomics: Gripshift vs. triggers Reply #1 on: March 19, 2018, 11:09:56 AM
white pass

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: March 19, 2018, 11:09:56 AM »

I have a Sram X0 on my fat bike and I love it. I'm not sure how I would feel about it on my trail bike which gets a lot more bumps and I feel would be susceptible to accidental shifts.

Have you tried both SRAM and Shimano trigger shifters? They operate differently and have different sized triggers so you may find one is a problem and not the other. I prefer the Shimano style triggers, but I have big hands. I think the SRAM ones are smaller.

Some new shifters come with a 'single clamp' design that allows you to put more devices onto one spot on your bars, saving you space for bags and other do-dads.

Topic Name: Ergonomics: Gripshift vs. triggers Reply #2 on: March 19, 2018, 12:53:54 PM
vermont

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: March 19, 2018, 12:53:54 PM »