Pages: [1]
Reply Reply New Topic New Poll
  Topic Name: Cuben Seat Bag on: August 11, 2014, 06:05:04 PM
Adam Alphabet

View Profile
« on: August 11, 2014, 06:05:04 PM »

A cuben fiber Seat Bag I made. I had been using a cuben hybrid version that I made for a few years and after 1000's of miles and trips of all sorts all over the place it was time for an update. I had absolutely no issues with the previous bag and it is still good to ride so I was confident in my construction and design techniques.

On this version I modified the length of the bottom stiffener panel and moved the wings back a bit for additional support over my initial versions. I also added a built in SPOT pocket as I have been using one in this position for a while in a separate pocket which was kind of clunky. It's also imo pointless to have a separate bag for a single use item. The seat bag came out pretty light at (215g or 7.58oz). There is still one more mod I could/may do to get the weight down a bit, which would get it right around 200g which would be neat, we'll see.

The bag is built to be ridden and not babied. In the construction I took precautions where needed to ensure the bag would not be 'disposable' but was also very careful to not overbuild anything. What would be the point when using light weight material and then adding a bunch or extra 'in case'. While cuben may not be for everyone it has proven it's worth in the backpacking world for years, I thought I would share my versions of some bags with the bikepacking world.

This bag survived it's initial test of 4 rugged days in the Chilcotins a couple weeks ago which involved some bush whacking and off trail travel. I'm really happy with how it turned out and expect a number of years of good use.

I plan on doing a 'Personal setup' in the coming week or so, so mounted pictures will be there.
Thanks for looking.

* Cuben Seat Bag Profile.JPG (209.04 KB, 992x744 - viewed 2078 times.)