Pages: [1]
Reply Reply New Topic New Poll
  Topic Name: Map Case on: July 18, 2014, 05:55:44 PM
Adam Alphabet

View Profile
« on: July 18, 2014, 05:55:44 PM »

A map case I made for a friend a couple days ago. I've been using one that I made for myself for a few years with no issues. It's held maps from Penticton to Mt. Princeton, Panama to Patagonia and many places in between.

* map case.JPG (222.02 KB, 992x744 - viewed 1214 times.)

* map case function.JPG (230.99 KB, 992x744 - viewed 1112 times.)

@adamalphabet

Topic Name: Map Case Reply #1 on: July 25, 2014, 05:47:43 PM
j.j.81

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: July 25, 2014, 05:47:43 PM »

Where did you source the plastic, and how does it sew? Pictures mounted on the bike please? I'm having a hard time seeing how that mount works.

It looks good. I've wanted to do something similar but haven't taken the time to figure out.

Thanks for posting this.

-Jeff

Topic Name: Map Case Reply #2 on: July 25, 2014, 07:06:00 PM
Adam Alphabet

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: July 25, 2014, 07:06:00 PM »

Thanks Jeff,

The plastic came from a local shop that sells outdoor materials/notions; cordura's, wax canvas, pack cloth, buckles, webbing, hook and loop etc.. I can't for the life of me remember what it's called. They use it to make windows and things for outdoor tarps and things of that nature. It's a bit rubbery feeling almost, not rigid at all.

It sews fine with the gros grain at the edges. I wouldn't sew it to itself as it would likely rip tear at the needle holes.