Pages: [1] 2 3 4
Reply Reply New Topic New Poll
  Topic Name: What's your career? on: March 11, 2014, 11:53:35 PM
vivalavelo

View Profile
« on: March 11, 2014, 11:53:35 PM »

Like most of you, riding and bikepacking has consumed my life. Scheming the next route or ride is always on my mind. What's also been on my mind is what others do for a career. I am exploring the idea of a career change with jobs that are A) very flexible with schedules, B) pay is fair, C) NOT in the medical field (personal qualms in further contribution to the industry).

Currently, I am a medical laboratory scientist with a background in molecular biology. Honestly, I cannot complain. This career has afforded me a fair pay, decent benefits, and job security. The schedule is fairly nice, too. I work 7 days on then get 7 days off, however there is no Personal Time Off (PTO) accrual (I may be able to trade shifts with others if I want more days off). This schedule also means that any events outside of work (eg friends, family, bike trips, etc.) also have to line up with my week off unless the aforementioned shift trades are arranged.

Again, what's your career? Also, how happy are you with your career?

Topic Name: What's your career? Reply #1 on: March 12, 2014, 01:32:27 AM
THE LONG RANGER

Hi-Ho, Single-Speed, AWAY!

View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: March 12, 2014, 01:32:27 AM »