Pages: [1]
Reply Reply New Topic New Poll
  Topic Name: Questions about panniers and gear on: August 28, 2009, 08:49:27 AM
Done

View Profile
« on: August 28, 2009, 08:49:27 AM »

I'm considering attempting the CTR next year. Looks like fun. But I'm new to bikepacking, so I've got some gear questions that I'm hoping some more experienced riders will be kind enough to help me with.

First, I'm trying to figure out why almost no one uses panniers. I've always hated riding with a pack--the extra weight on my shoulders and back is uncomfortable and fatiguing. Seems like it would be easier to simply put everything on the bike in rear panniers (and maybe carry a small fanny pack for easy access to food, etc.) But I'm obviously wrong (or at least in the minority!), because everyone seems to be carrying packs. So, why do most of you avoid panniers?

Second, how many riders choose bivy bags versus ultra-light tents?

Thanks! I'm looking forward to learning over the course of the year, and then hopefully meeting many of you in August 2010!

Cheers,
Toby Gadd

"Done"

Topic Name: Questions about panniers and gear Reply #1 on: August 28, 2009, 09:50:41 AM
DaveH

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: August 28, 2009, 09:50:41 AM »

Panniers are slow!  I used them on a training/scouting weekend with some buds and they shelled me bad.  Haven't used them since.  There was one guy I know that used them at CTR this year and he was doing quite well with them.  Drawbacks for CTR specifically are that extra weight on the bike really sucks for hike a bike of which there is a TON on the CT, even for the strongest riders.  They also get in the way when hiking, hit your legs etc.  Panniers require a rack, adding weight and durability issues.  Large, soft seatpacks are all the rage these days and worth every penny.