Pages: [1]
Reply Reply New Topic New Poll
  Topic Name: What to use for fabric stiffener? on: February 07, 2016, 01:28:16 PM
SeS

View Profile
« on: February 07, 2016, 01:28:16 PM »

Hi, I'm new to MYOG.  My first attempt at a top tube bag came out okay, but would be better with stiffer side panels.  I thought something like 1/8" closed cell foam sandwiched between 2 layers of fabric would work, but I'm having trouble finding the right material.  What do you use, and where do you get it?  Do you have any related tips you can share?  Thanks.

Topic Name: What to use for fabric stiffener? Reply #1 on: February 07, 2016, 10:59:05 PM
Adam Alphabet

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: February 07, 2016, 10:59:05 PM »

I've made a handful of top tube bags. While I don't really like using them that much anymore and don't like making them all that much anymore either as they're a lot of work for their worth I found making sleeves on the inside wall of the bag for .060 HDPE stiffeners to be very effective. I had an old Carousel Design Works TT bag and this is what Jeff used to do. Works great as it provided enough stiffness to open and close the bag with one hand while on the move.

@adamalphabet

Topic Name: What to use for fabric stiffener? Reply #2 on: February 17, 2016, 09:11:51 PM
Racingguy04

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 17, 2016, 09:11:51 PM »

I found some flexible plastic cutting boards at the grocery store that were cheap and the perfect stiffness and weight for stiffening sides of bags. Sleeves would have been awesome if I'd thought about it when I was sewing the bag, but I just super glued them to the fabric.

Topic Name: What to use for fabric stiffener? Reply #3 on: February 26, 2016, 08:07:26 AM
LittleOldLady

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: February 26, 2016, 08:07:26 AM »