Pages: [1]
Reply Reply New Topic New Poll
  Topic Name: Water bottles on fork on: September 05, 2011, 10:23:41 PM
intheways

View Profile
« on: September 05, 2011, 10:23:41 PM »

I'm looking to add hydration capacity to my rig and I am considering putting some Salsa Anything cages (http://salsacycles.com/components/anything_cage/) on my fork, but I'm a bit concerned as to how the weight might affect handling.  A lot of times I'm riding with my daughter on board and want to make sure that my bike is handling consistently.

Anyone have any experiences with these?

Thanks

Topic Name: Water bottles on fork Reply #1 on: September 09, 2011, 02:33:49 PM
Thumby

Tell me, where is this mythical convenience store?

View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: September 09, 2011, 02:33:49 PM »

If you are carrying a bunch of weight already, I doubt you'll notice any difference.  I've ridden fully packed with one bottle on the fork, couldn't tell it was there.  I have no experience with the specific Salsa unit. 

Tour Divide 2011 GD

I live on a big round ball, I never do dream I may fall.
And even if one day I do, I'll jump off and smile back at you.  -Jesse Winchester

Topic Name: Water bottles on fork Reply #2 on: September 09, 2011, 04:47:56 PM
intheways

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: September 09, 2011, 04:47:56 PM »

Sweet!  That's what I was hoping for

Topic Name: Water bottles on fork Reply #3 on: September 09, 2011, 05:33:52 PM
bmike-vt

View Profile WWW
« Reply #3 on: September 09, 2011, 05:33:52 PM »

The anything cages are pretty big. More like nalgene size and up... A regular bottle cage might be better...

Topic Name: Water bottles on fork Reply #4 on: September 09, 2011, 07:01:20 PM
Area54

View Profile
« Reply #4 on: September 09, 2011, 07:01:20 PM »

I pack with a tent and thermarest on the fork using anything cages (Fargo Ti), keep it balanced is the best measure. I use a Revelate frame bag and place an MSR dromedary in it for water.