Pages: [1]
Reply Reply New Topic New Poll
  Topic Name: Newb looking for a bike on: September 06, 2017, 08:17:49 AM
Billw

View Profile
« on: September 06, 2017, 08:17:49 AM »

I'm new to this and would love to find a bike that I don't have to do any, or very little, modifications for bikepacking.   I'm not technical on all the jargon.  Just looking for the best deal to get started.   I see that Trek has a 920 and 1120 that seem to be built for this purpose.  Those are $2k and $2.5k.  Is that what I need to spend for a decent bike already set up?  I see many use Surely and other bikes but like I said, I didn't want to have to rebuild an entire bike after buying it....or is that what I need to do?

I'm 6' about 230lbs (which is a big motivator for doing this)
I travel often for my job to places like Colorado, New Mexico, Oregon,  Tennessee,  ECT.  I like to camp when I travel and bikepacking is very appealing.
Thanks for any input!

Topic Name: Newb looking for a bike Reply #1 on: September 06, 2017, 11:13:38 AM
Lentamentalisk

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: September 06, 2017, 11:13:38 AM »

It really depends on what sort of riding you'll be doing. The phrase "bikepacking" can be used for anything from fatbiking through the arctic to traveling inn to inn on a pavement credit card tour. If you like bringing a laptop, camp chair, portable shoe rack, and 6 pints of icecream, you'll need a very different set of bags than if you plan on going race pace and enjoy drilling holes in your toothbrush.

You mention doing a bunch of travel. If you are traveling by air, getting a bike that has a frame which comes apart (whether with S&S couplers, or something custom like a Ritchy Break-away) could save you a lot of money and hassle in the long run.

Topic Name: Newb looking for a bike Reply #2 on: September 06, 2017, 01:20:08 PM
Billw

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: September 06, 2017, 01:20:08 PM »

I drive all over the country so I can transport my bike easily on a hitch mount.